My Ten #Autumn Faves. YSL, Country Walks, Fire Pits and Pumpkin Pie!

Hello all,

Quote time:

“Crunching, crinkling Autumn leaves swirling in the breeze”

“Autumn, the years last loveliest smile” William Cullen Bryant

I know how much some of you dread the end of those wonderful summer days but let’s be honest here, its going to happen sooner or later and as of late there has certainly been a slight chill in the air.

You might think me a little odd for saying this, but just recently I have woken up and just felt that “Autumn feeling”.

Autumn is most definitely one of my favourite times of the year, I get so excited and immediately begin to feel all warm inside just thinking about what is to come. As if overnight everything becomes atmospheric, we are surrounded by warm, rich beautiful colours, there are leaves to kick, the conkers fall and most of all I look forward to plenty of cosy nights in front of the fire, wrapped up in my fur blanket, gorging on Netflix (currently watching Grimm) with a large cup of steaming hot choccy in my hands. I literally can’t contain my excitement….

Of course like many, I have my year upon year autumnal go to’s. These are all the things that contribute towards making my fave season simply wonderful. So for that reason I would love to share them with you:

1 – A good pair of leather boots

No 1 on my list has to be my My Dubarry boots and Chinchilla fur topped boot liners. I waited so long for a pair of these miraculous boots and last year I was lucky enough to finally get my hands on a pair whilst visiting Burghley Horse trails for the day. To say I was happy with my purchase is an understatement. They are fully waterproof (great for autumn dog walks and various other country pursuits) and honestly last for years if you take care of them.

2 – YSL lipstick and nail polish

No 2 is most definitely red lipstick and nail varnish. My husband recently came home with the YSL Rouge DaDa nail varnish and the YLS Rouge Per Cuture lip-stick. Let’s just say he knows me well. I can’t wait to use them.

3 – Country Walks

No 3 has to be country walks. For me specifically it is a Historical House and Gardens named Newstead Abbey. This place is steeped in history and is best known for being the Ancestral Home of Poet Lord Byron. In the autumn it is simply beautiful, trust me on this one. If you are a photographer of any kind I highly recommended taking a trip there and if you’re not, take a trip anyway. This place is pleasing to the eye at all times of the year and has a special place in my heat as I spent a lot of my childhood there and actually got married in the chapel there in Dec 2005 (in the snow may I add).

4 – Michael Kors bag

Coming in at No 4 is my Michael Kors brown leather bucket bag. It is classy and perfect for autumn and winter. It looks amazing when paired with a lovely cream chunky knit jumper, skinny jeans and brown leather boots; creating that ultimate casual look of the season.

5 – Fire Pit

No 5 is the Fire Pit that we purchased last year. It wasn’t overly expensive as we weren’t sure if we would use it much, but my gosh we have and we love popping in a sachet of some of the awesome “Mystical Fire” which magically turns the flames all the colours of the rainbow, cool or what!?

6 – Baking

No 6 is baking. No way could I leave this one out; after all autumn just wouldn’t be the same without the aroma of slow cooking soups and stews permeating the air in our home. Soup and stew and dumplings have to be my all time favourite autumn/winter meals. They are quick and easy to make and most importantly they just give you that warm glow that you require on a chilly evening.

7 – Pumpkin Pie

No 7 is pumpkin pie. Now I have to be honest, I have never made this, but I have tried a shop bought pie from our local deli and it was heavenly. This year I have promised everyone I will make one myself but I am currently in the process of trying to find the perfect recipe (anyone??).

8 – Larsson and Jennings Watch

No 8 is my Larsson and Jennings CM Gold watch. This aesthetically pleasing time piece is ideal for autumn and can be dressed up or down. I first came across this up and coming brand last year on Monmouth Street in London when I was away with family visiting Santa at Hamleys. As soon as I set eyes on this particular model, I had to have it. The natural fusion of modern and traditional elements (as they expertly put it) are exactly what im about.

9 – Slipper Socks

No 9 my warm stag design slipper socks from John Lewis. I have a confession to make; these are actually mens socks but I love them! They are so me and my gosh are they warm. It won’t be long before they make a comeback.

10 – Onesie

No 10 last but not least, is my panda onesie from Next. I purchased this about two years ago and let me tell you I had to think about this purchase long and hard for I am not the slimmest person and I was terrified of looking like an over-sized guinea pig. Now I am not saying that I don’t look like an over-sized Guinea pig, I am just saying that if I do, I simply do not care for it is warm and cosy and most autumn evenings I head straight through the door, up the stairs and into my bedroom so that I can put it on.

Leave a Reply

