Funky #Footwear for the Wet and Wild Days

Hello wonderful people,

How was hump day for you all? I hope it was as good as mine.

Today I got some great news which will be revealed shortly.

On another note, it is so rainy here (I hope it doesn’t last too long) which got me thinking about winter footwear. I am a real collector of footwear which drives my family mad but hey, a girl can never have too many pairs of: shoes, boots, sandals, flip-flops, ballet pumps and trainers can she now.

In the colder months I love to wear warm cosy boots such as: Uggs, but these are not always practical when it is throwing it down with rain or snowing.

Other alternatives to sheepskin style boots are wellies, but lets be honest here, if you are going to wear wellies they need to be decent so that they last. Investing in a good quality pair of wellies or boots is, in my opinion, never a waste of money.

My faves –

Credit – http://goo.gl/vqDPf2

Last year I purchased some Dubarrys. I have always wanted a pair of these stylish, classy and versatile country boots but they are pretty pricey so I had to wait a while, but now I have them I never take them off.

They are leather, fully waterproof and look great dressed up or down; so I wear them with either skinny jeans or tights and a denim/corduroy skirt . In fact there is a lovely casual A-Line above the knee skirt in white stuff at the moment which I have my eyes on!

If Dubarry boots are out of your price range or not quite to your taste, you might prefer the following:

Hunter –

Credit – https://goo.gl/jG8InO

My son has a pair of these epic wellies and they have lasted him about 2 years now. I did buy them a size too big but either way, they have well and truly stood the test of time and they are still going.

About 2 months after I bought him the boots, I got some boot liners to go with them to keep his feet warm and protected from the cold. I do find that when you wear wellies in the coldest temperates, you do need to wear boot liners or very thick socks to keep those icy spells away from your feet.

Hunter do a brilliant range of boots in different colours, finishes and styles. I particularly like the glossy high fine finish in purple and the 3/4 length wellies as opposed to the full-length ones.

The Shoreditch Biker Boot from Office is ideal for those of you who are searching for something edgy and stylish.

Muck Boots –

Credit – http://goo.gl/dSXIhs

Both I and my husband have these boots. We only wear them when it snows but they are great at warding off the cold but I have to admit they are not quite as attractive as the Hunter or Dubarry.

That being said, these are the only wellies I wouldn’t recommended wearing extra thick socks or boot liners with because they are made from neoprene which is then covered with rubber (this makes them 100% waterproof).

The top section of the boot stretches to fit most calf widths which is ideal for women who struggle to fit in a traditional shaped welly.

I particularly love the riding style Muck Boots called Pacy which are available in black and brown. This style of Muck Boots is very stylish and has a slim profile.

Joules –

Credit – http://goo.gl/zcDnKN

If you love quirky boots or patterned boots that are affordable, pretty and eye catching, Joules is the ideal choice. I purchase quite a lot of clothing for both myself and my son from Joules because I find that their products look classy, fit well and wash even better.

At the moment Joules have over 30 different pairs of wellies on their website from which you can choose; ranging from: printed and glossy to short and mid-height.

We currently have a pair of Joules wellies sitting in the wardrobe which my son uses when he isn’t wearing his Hunters and he loves them. He says they are comfy and warm and they look great with everything from jeans and chinos to shorts and tracksuit bottoms.

In my opinion Joules wellies are the ideal choice of footwear for those muddy festivals too!

Leave a Reply

