A Historical Night and a Bit of a Fright!

Discovering Nottingham…

To say I have lived in Nottingham for thirty plus years, I feel that I haven’t really embraced it like I could or should have done. I remember saying to my mum not long ago that I find Nottingham a really boring place to live and told her that I wanted to move somewhere more “up and coming” or somewhere that has a bit more about it.

Now two months on, if you were to ask me if I still feel the same, the answer would be no!

Since starting this blog and subsequently seeing more of Nottingham, meeting some great people and having a thoroughly enjoyable time; I now realise that the city does in fact have a lot to give if you are prepared to make the most of what is available to you. There are plenty of exciting, educational and interesting things to do and see, you just need to find them.

Pleasantly surprised…

One of the most recent events I have had the pleasure of attending was “Madame Parboiled’s” historical pub tour. Now I wasn’t really sure what to expect from this event, but I did wonder if it would be my sort of evening.

I was mainly doubtful because I don’t drink alcohol and I struggle to sit still and pay attention for long periods of time, but I have to say, what I thought it was going to be and what it actually was, were two very different things (and not in a bad way).

Meeting the wonderful Madame Parboiled…

20150913_204958

I won’t give too much detail about the tour away because I don’t want to spoil it for you, but I will say that from the minute Madame Parboiled arrived at the first pub of the night (The Pit and Pendulum) donning her authentic costume she had us all laughing; especially when she began cracking jokes about having to “lift her skirt” as she put it. We then listened intently as she told many fascinating stories behind our cities gruesome past.

The funny, endearing and extremely knowledgeable Kath George (whose stage name is Madame Parboiled); played the part of an executioner’s wife magnificently and she skilfully remained in character until the very last word she spoke.

Throughout the tour, Madame Parboiled took us back in time in the form of a guided walk through the quiet streets of Nottingham, stopping at various points along the way to indulge us in plenty of historical information.

We visited and stopped at a number of four different pubs during the evening which included: The Pit and Pendulum, The Bell Inn, Ye Olde Salutation Inn and Ye Olde Trip to jerusaem. At each pub Madame Parboiled told us stories of old and engaged us with tales of ghostly goings on. We all sat quietly listening; especially when we were in the cellar of The Sal (as the locals call it). I think you could have heard a pin drop!

Ghosties caught on camera…

Now I am not a real believer in ghosties, but I think you should have a peek at this photo that I snapped on my smart phone in the cellar of Ye Olde Salutation Inn. As I was looking through the phone ready to take the picture I noticed something moving across my screen, but instead of moving the phone out of the way to look at what it was, I continued to press the “capture image” button. This is what showed up afterwards (look carefully at the white shadow to the right of the picture):

20150913_211014

Eating…

I would highly recommend getting something to eat before you start out on the tour as it is a rather long evening; although a very good one.  If you decide to eat at The Pit and Pendulum, you will receive a 20% discount for being part of Madame Parboiled’s group and they will reserve a table for you. The food will set you up nicely for the rest of the evening’s activities and you get to meet some of the the other tour attendees before the entertainment begins.

A thoroughly enjoyable evening…

All in all the evening was one that I would highly recommend to both family and friends. Kath is an absolute natural born entertainer who clearly has a passion for history and I wouldn’t think twice about attending more of her events.

If you fancy taking a look at some of Madame Parboiled’s up and coming dates you can find her here on Facebook or alternatively on her website here.

More pictures from the evening:

Leave a Reply

