Meeting Gem London (as seen in asos) – Jewellery Heaven

A new discovery…

After having received an invitation to attend the “Gem London Jewellery” pop-up in Nottingham, I immediately began researching their wonderful range of fine jewels which can be found on and purchased from Asos – the extremely popular on-line fashion and beauty store.

I was impressed immediately by Gem’s stunning collection which comprises of many beautifully eye-catching rings, bracelets, necklaces and earrings. I have to say that I took a particular shine to both the Art Deco Necklace and the Claw Midi Ring; both of which can be found here.

I was obviously very honoured to have been invited to this special event which was held at Chino Latinos; a multi-award winning Pan-Asian restaurant which is located in the Park Plaza Hotel in Nottingham. I have actually stayed at the hotel before and I enjoyed every minute of my time there, so I was more than happy to be returning.

Upon arriving in reception I was welcomed warmly by a gentleman offering a complimentary drink. I chose the sparkling Elderflower which is actually one of my favourites; needless to say, it went down a treat.

When we got to Chino Latinos I was greeted by one of the Gem London girls. She did a great job of giving me a brief introduction of all the immaculately presented jewellery which was on display. She then left me to browse but was on hand if I felt like I needed any assistance which was perfect.

Nibbles…

I have to confess that before browsing the collection, I actually helped myself to some of the food that Chino Latino had laid on for the event. It was that delicious I found it hard to stay away from the table.

Getting to know Rupinder…

Rupinder - Managing Director of Gem London
Rupinder – Managing Director of Gem London

I was really eager to meet the lady behind all of this stunning, sparkling jewellery so I made a point of introducing myself, at which point Rupinder and I managed to have a quick chat about how the idea of creating Gem London began.

Rupinder who is the Managing Director of the business, explained to me how she has always had a real love for jewellery and accessories. As a young child she would go through her mother’s jewellery box trying on all of the wonderful items she could find.

As she got older, this adoration of jewellery and accessories grew; until one day she found herself going through her own growing collection of jewellery and had the idea of bringing out a range that she really loved and that would be suitable to wear with any of her outfits whatever the time of day or evening.

She went on to tell me how she believes that wearing a piece of statement jewellery can really change and enhance any outfit, so even if she walks into a room and someone is wearing the same piece of clothing as her, she still feels individual. Rupinder went on to tell me that over the next couple of months Gem will be working on bringing out a range of jewellery that is versatile; covering anything from day wear to evening wear.

The collection…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I feel that the pictures from the evening don’t do this stunning range a great deal of credit; to see them in person is just something else. Not only are the pieces of jewellery easy on the eye, they are also weighty so you real feel as if you are investing in a piece of good quality jewellery. I felt truly wowed by every single one of Rupinder’s intricately designed pieces and found it incredibly difficult to choose one as they were all honestly so pretty and bursting with luxurious colours.

Of course, it wasn’t just this lovely lady’s pieces of jewellery that impressed me, it was also Rupinder herself. She is one of the nicest people I have ever had the pleasure of meeting since starting my business and I must also say that the ladies that were there helping her on the evening were so friendly. They really couldn’t do enough to help me find the right necklace.

I manged to decide on one particular piece, but I certainly struggled to choose between two that I really liked. When choosing jewellery, I tend to opt for long necklaces as I am not the thinnest person! For this reason I feel that a longer style is better suited to my body shape.

There were two longer styles that particularly caught my eye, one of which was from the autumn/winter collection and featured gorgeous Ox-blood red stones. Rupinder informed me that Ox-blood is going to be a big colour this season and although I didn’t choose that particular one, I know that I will be back to get it very soon.

Pearls it is then…

505

The one I did choose actually went with my outfit that I wore that evening. It is made largely of pearls, which as you may have guessed by the name of my business, I like very much. It was as if it had been made for me. I couldn’t possibly leave it behind! The great thing about this piece is that I can alternate the ways in which I wear it. I can either have it as a two piece or three piece depending on how many times I wrap it over. It is simply perfect!

I can’t wait for the next one…

I really hope it’s not long before Rupiner does another pop-up because I had a truly perfect evening browsing jewellery, sampling scrumptious food and making new friends. Not only that, Rupinder was the first person that I gave one of my business cards too, for this reason Gem will always have a special place in my heart.

I can’t wait to see what this talented lady has planned for the coming months. I am really looking forward to seeing all of Gem’s future collections including her children’s collection which she is currently planning.

If you would like to see for yourself just how gorgeous these affordable yet quality pieces really are, click here!

Leave a Reply

