Just For One Minute, Dare to Dream…

Hi all,

I hope you are all having a smashing weekend.

This post definitely needs a few quotes:

“Those who don’t believe in magic will never find it” – Roald Dahl

“Good things come to those who believe, better things come to those who are patient and the best things come to those who don’t give up”

I thought I would write a post about how lucky I feel to be in the place that I am in right now, for this is a place that I have wanted to be in for what seems like years. I wished for this many times as I was growing up, for I always knew what I wanted…

A child who loved to write…

I have been writing since the age of seven. For me, writing was a time when I could let my mind run wild, set it free and let my imagination become reality free from constraint.

I started writing on the computer in my bedroom which had a picturesque view over the back of our family business, which at the time was a rare breed’s farm. From behind the expanse of glass which was my bedroom window, I would sit quietly on an evening watching dreamily as the sun set behind the tall oak trees in the forest.

I would gaze out over the fields where my horses laid almost ornament like in the early evening air. Of course this was the perfect setting for any child, never mind one with a vivid imagination who loved to write.

Writing was the only time I could truly disappear into my head (where I was happiest). As I gazed over the fields I allowed my mind to run wild, I set it free and as I typed, my imagination became reality.

Imagination is all I needed…

As a child I found it difficult to make friends and communicate with others in my peer group, I always felt different. For those of you who have experienced the same,  you will know that it isn’t easy having to try hard just to fit in.

Writing quickly became my best friend, after all it was something I could rely on, I could disappear into my writing and there in my own fabricated world, I was in control.

I had lots of friends, but they weren’t quite like any friend I would find in the real world. These friends of mine were mainly animals such as: unicorns, dogs, talking brightly-coloured giant birds and sweet little hedgehogs that would cook me up bowls of delicious soup from their cosy candle-lit kitchen in their tree stump home!

As I grew up, writing became harder. I had more commitments and distractions, but I still found the time to write short stories now and again.

When I reached my late twenties I found that the desire to write became really overwhelming, as if all that time not writing had built up and built up until – boom: I just had to write!

A glimmer of hope…

The thing is, I didn’t just want to write randomly; I wanted to work in press and journalism. In fact I had wanted to for years, but like most who want this type of career, I didn’t have a clue where to start so I pushed it to the back of my mind as I had always done.

Just I was beginning to give up hope of any type of writing career, a job opportunity came up within a digital marketing agency that my husband worked for so I applied for it and got the job straight away.

I worked for the company as a content writer for about three years until I couldn’t take the brain numbing feeling of writing the same thing over and over again any longer! I took a break from it all and did nothing for a while which resulted in me feeling lost and pretty much like my life had no purpose again. Deep down I knew there was more and I told myself not to give up no matter how fed-up I felt!

A dream is a wish your heart makes – Walt Disney…

https://bariyah25.wordpress.com/tag/dream/
https://bariyah25.wordpress.com/tag/dream/

One day after seeing my usual glum face, my husband suggested that I should start a blog; even if I wrote total nonsense, it would help me get my rhythm back and most importantly for him it would put a smile on my face! I said: “yes” and almost overnight Pearlie Pumpkin was born but I never, not even for one minute, expected it to go as well as it has.

Over the last 4 weeks, since the beginning of Pearlie Pumpkin (or what was originally Make-up Muse); I have been on an awesome adventure (and at times a really comical one). I am truly grateful for those who have been a part of it for this is an adventure full of wonderful memories that I will cherish forever.

I have honestly been quite surprised by what I am capable of once I put my mind to it, but if you ask my mother she will tell you that it is of no surprise to her at all!

Doing event write-ups, product and food reviews; has made me the happiest person alive. I love every minute of it, for I am meeting new people who believe in what they do, they love telling me about what they do, I love listening to what they do and even better; they believe in what I can do for them and their business and yes – when they see what I have done, they love it.

That is just mind-blowing; especially to someone who never believed in her own capabilities as a writer or as an anything in actual fact!

If someone had told me when I was 28 (which was a particularly rough time for me), that this is where I would be at the age of 32, I would never have believed them because honestly; this is all I ever wanted, although I never spoke of it for fear of being laughed at.

Writing makes me happy but writing for a reason makes me the happiest person alive.

The one thing I do have to remember is that no one gave me any of this. I believed, I kept going and I never stopped trying. I mean, wow if anyone has had knock backs and failures, it’s me and I ma sure there are plenty more to come!

Of course, I am nowhere near where I want to be but I am well on my way which is the closest I have ever been and do you know what, for the first time in my life I feel as though I am right where I am meant to be!

If you are reading this and trying to get to where you want to be, just keep telling yourself to never give up on your dreams because someone, somewhere is waiting to help them become reality!

Lots of love

Carrie xxx

Leave a Reply

