A Very Happy Halloween from Chatsworth…

I always like to do something with my family for Halloween specifically something that involves walking in the countryside where we can be surrounded by all the beautiful shades of the autumnal leaves. This is without a doubt my favourite time of the year so I like to make the most of it.

Somewhere we always visit many times throughout the year is Chatsworth House but I particularly look forward to our autumn visit for the “Halloween Hoot” which takes places within the estate every year.

There are always fun activities provided for the children at the farm yard and in the gardens such as: reptile handling, spooky story telling, Halloween arts and crafts, the fright flight, face painting and broom stick making plus much more. This year we managed to convince my son to have his face painted (not something he has been keen on in past years) and guess what? He loved every minute of it; especially the end result which I think you will agree, is awesome and very scary.

Whilst we were in the farm yard we made the most of the huge adventure play ground, well my son did anyway. He got his granny running up and down all over the place. I think she slept well that night and he certainly burnt some energy off before lunch.

This year we decided to spend the majority of our time exploring the gardens. This is something that we have never really had the chance to do before. We loved every minute of it but we particularly enjoyed climbing up all the huge rocks and looking for and walking through the secret tunnel. On the way out of the garden we even grabbed a delicious ice cream for the walk back to the car.

Of course we couldn’t leave without stopping by the reputable Chatsworth Estate Farm Shop which is always stocked up with produce fresh from the estate, tenant farms, Derbyshire suppliers and other small food producers. I really wanted to check out the Christmas Marquee whilst we there and I wasn’t disappointed by what I found. There was a vast selection of delicious food from cake mixes to cheese and vintage advent calendars. It’s safe to say, I didn’t go home empty handed.

If you would like to see more of our adventures at the Halloween Hoot and of our day at Chatsworth, have a browse through my photo gallery below:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

