My Personal Goals – What I eat in a day to lose weight and build muscle

Hi all,

Before you read this post please remember that I have already lost 5 1/2 stone and I am still in the process of losing weight and getting the body I want.

At first when I started my weight loss Journey I so desperately wanted to be “skinny”. All I wanted to do was lose weight and look good in the clothes I wore but as time went on, I learned that skinny doesn’t exactly mean that you are fit and healthy. I think its quite obvious to see when someone is skinny and doesn’t work out compared to someone who is skinny and does work out.

In order to get advice on the dietary side of things I started following certain Youtubers such as “Grace Fit UK”, who I see as such inspiration and just watching her videos keeps me motivated to get the body I want.

To help me reach my goal I decided to train with a personal trainer at my gym once a week but now I actually have two personal trainers who I alternate between as I love both of their approaches to training.

In order to lose weight but still try to build muscle I eat healthily 80% of the time. There are times where I don’t, such as birthdays and BBQ’s, when I go out to eat with friends or at general family gatherings.

My day usually starts at 7am when I wake up. I am not a huge water drinker (I just don’t like it but I am working on it) so I grab a coffee and head back to bed for half an hour and I check my messages, emails and social media accounts until I have to get ready for the gym and leave for the school run.  I do not eat this early and will only eat upon returning from the gym. I personally can not face food this early and I find that at this time in the morning I work out better having not eaten.

I get back from the gym around 9:30 to 10:00am depending on what I am doing and will eat breakfast. This will be my first meal of the day and I always try and eat something that I know will fill me up until 2pm when I will eat my next meal.

This day I had porridge oats with strawberries, blueberries, a drizzle of honey and a bit of Pip and Nut Peanut Butter with Maple Syrup on the top. I love love love this, it is so yummy and it keeps me full for hours.

20170620_104935

At 2pm or around that time, depending on how hungry I am, I may either eat a snack or a full meal. On this day I decided to have one slice of wholemeal bread toasted, topped with avocado mash, bacon and poached egg. Nothing was fried apart from the side of spinach and mushrooms but I fried them in Coconut Oil. As you can see I sneaked a blob of tomato sauce in there lol.

20170619_095616

Lastly for my dinner I had a sweet potato cooked in the oven, how nice are they when cooked this way?! With it I put in some spreadable goats cheese and then a tin of tuna with chill flakes and garlic and added some sweet corn on top. As you can see I just popped some tomato and cucumber on the side to add a bit more veg to my meal. This was yummy and finished the day off nicely.

20170629_141252

I had some rather filling food this day and quite a lot of carbs so I didn’t snack inbetween, but if I were to snack throughout the day I may have either some Greek Yogurt, a Coconut and Pineapple Smoothie (these are my faves, I think they taste like a Pina Colada and are low calorie) or a couple of Vanilla and Blueberry Rice Cakes.

I do not actually count my calories/macros. Maybe I will get into that later on but at the moment I just eat when im hungry and try to eat things I like as I am quite new to all this. I work out at the gym for an hour to an hour and a half per day and I burn on average about 800 – 1000 calories. As well as this I also go running on a Wednesday night with a group of friends and run about 2.5 miles. I go to the gym no less than 5 times a week.

Love from Carrie x

Leave a Reply

